The Best Homemade Baby Wipes

When I was pregnant I was shocked and disgusted by most of the baby wipes I found on the market. Most of the popular brands were laden with chemicals that could potentially dry out and irritate a baby’s skin. I go by the motto of “if I wouldn’t clean my face with these wipes then I wouldn’t wipe my baby’s bottom with them either”. Coming from the womb and being exposed to nasty chemicals multiple times a day was not my idea of healthy diapering. I loved the idea of simple water wipes, but I also wanted a little something more to help “clean” my little guy’s bottom when he needed it as well. After researching online about all the different way other moms have made homemade baby wipes and experimenting with some different recipes myself I came up with the perfect combination for my little one’s sensitive skin. When making homemade wipes different containers work better for different people, but I found that a large empty Huggies wipes container worked great for me. Also to note: use Bounty brand paper towels as they hold up best.

Recipe:

Half a roll of Bounty paper towels (cut straight through insert, you will remove it later), place one half in container with the cut side down.

Mix the below in a measuring cup with a spout to pour from:

  • 2-4 squirts of a mild organic body wash or shampoo. My favorite is Earth Mama Angel Baby products. Find them at http://earthmamaangelbaby.com/products/angel-baby-body-wash-shampoo.html
  • 2-4 drops of organic lavender essential oil. I use Aura acacia and highly recommend their products. https://www.auracacia.com/aura-cacia-lavender-essential-oil
  • 1 cup distilled water (where I live we don’t drink water from the tap as its untreated so use your best judgement depending on your water supply!)
  • Optional: 1 tbsp organic coconut oil.

Stir above ingredients and pour evenly over paper towels in container. Once wet, you can reach inside the middle and loosen the middle insert until you can pull it out. Sometimes it comes out in one piece, sometimes in two! The paper towels will often come out with the insert from the middle which is great as this is where you will start the new “wipes” from. Close up the container and let it sit for 5 minutes, then flip it over and let it sit for another 5 minutes to evenly distribute the wetness. Flip it back over, open it up, and starting from the middle of the paper towels pull a few up and put through the top opening. Voila! The best, organic, safe, cleansing, and amazing smelling wipes around!

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Best Homemade Baby Wipes

Leave a Reply

